Award for Innovation


The NETC Award for Innovation recognizes an individual or team who has demonstrated the innovative use of technology. The award honors the innovative use of technology integrated into the delivery of educational programs or in the administrative systems that support educational programs.


One award will be presented each year given that nominations of sufficient substance are submitted. If an individual wins, they will receive an engraved award; if a team wins, they will received an engraved award for the team and a framed certificate for each team member. Awards are presented at the NETC Annual Conference.


Eligible individuals must be—or teams must be comprised of—IT professionals employed by an 1862, 1890, or 1994 land-grant university in positions whose assignments and workloads have focused significantly (effective FTE is 51% or more across the entire team) on providing information technology support to Cooperative Extension programs. At least one member of a nominated team must be an active member of the NETC.

Process and Timeline

A call for nominations will be issued in November of each year with the expectation that the award will be presented at the NETC Annual Conference the following year.

A standard nomination form, created and maintained by the NETC Board, will be used. 

The VP or VP Elect will be responsible for managing the nomination and selection processes with the guidance of the NETC Board.

The selection committee will review the nominations and, using a common rating sheet, will select the award recipient.

General timeline for nomination, selection and presentation of the award:

  • Nov – Feb: Call for nominations
  • Jan – Feb: Assemble Selection Committee
  • Mar – Apr: Review nominations and select award winner
  • Apr – May: Prepare award and award presentation
  • May – Aug: Present award at the NETC Annual Conference

Selection Committee

Awards winners are selected by an Awards Committee of 5 active NETC members.

  • VP or VP elect is the chair of the committee
  • Representative from institution hosting current year’s conference
  • Three reps from different regions/1890/1994 schools