Each year, the NETC Board offers several scholarships to help the Community attend the annual conference at that year’s land-grant university.

Duane Rigsby First-Time NETC Attendee Memorial Scholarship

Duane Rigsby served as the face of the National Extension Technology Community (NETC). As a former president, he played a pivotal role in transforming the group from a steering committee overseeing an annual event into a fully-fledged 501(c)(3) professional organization. Duane firmly believed in NETC’s mission, advocating for the sharing of knowledge and experiences within the Extension IT community for the collective benefit.

His expertise spanned various IT domains, including networking, telephony, security, videography, and video production. Duane excelled as an instructor and remained a lifelong learner. Whenever he encountered a challenging question, he knew exactly who to reach out to: “I know a guy who can help us…” Although Duane’s time with us was cut short, his legacy and impact on the organization continue to resonate.

We offer this scholarship in his honor.



  • Cedric Spradley – Florida A&M University
  • Josh Rieger – Prairie View A&M University
  • Porter Chase – Prairie View A&M University
  • John Macias – University of Florida